asebostrong.blogg.se

Vray settings
Vray settings










For final renderings, I will bump up the resolution to somewhere between 45 px though I often suggest students can get away with 3000 px images to save time. For quick test renderings, I set the resolution to 1200×800. This is where the resolution is set and where I tell V-Ray to save the file. The Material ID is especially helpful to make quick selections of materials. For example, I often select Reflection, Refraction, ZDepth, and Material ID for almost every rendering I do. In other words, you create images that separate out information such as reflections, lighting, and shadows, which can then be used as separate layers in Photoshop. Here, you can set up extra channels to be generated along with the rgb color image. You can find spherical skies online and through Google image searches. I also make sure to choose “UVWGenEnvironment” in the drop down next to UVW Type. In the drop down under the preview, I choose “TexBitmap”, and load a spherical sky image. To add a sky, I choose the “M” in the “Reflection/Refraction(background)” box. Here, I often add a sky image so that it will be seen in the reflections of my model. The “Reflection/Refraction (background)” controls what you see in the background/sky. For this daytime rendering, I left everything at the default settings. If you have a dusk shot, then you can tweak the sun color or use an HDRI image to generate the light. Therefore, changing the sun angle in Sketchup changes the sun angle here in V-Ray. Again, the default V-Ray settings are tied to the Sketchup sun. The GI (Skylight) box controls the sun specifically. This tab controls the overall lighting of the scene. For interior shots or dusk scenes where there is low light, these settings will need to be adjusted accordingly. This slightly darkens the final output so that the white materials don’t get washed out. I usually leave the default settings the same except for the F-number which I change from “8” to “10”. This tab controls things like exposure of the rendering similar to how an SLR camera works. This is the box I check when I create clay model renderings. This will override all materials in the model and replace them with a single material color. In this tab, I really only use the “Override Materials” check box. Next to that is the “Load” button which allows you to load past settings which have become a big time saver in our studio. If I have been experimenting with settings and things are getting weird with the outputs, I will often hit this button to start from scratch. This will take everything to the default V-Ray settings when the program was first installed. An important button to be familiar with is the “Load Defaults” button. The V-Ray settings dialogue box uses tabs that expand and contract keeping the settings a little more manageable to navigate. This is especially important if I am going to overlay Sketchup image exports on top of the V-Ray renderings or if I need to render the same view later on down the road. I also save the Sketchup scene that I plan to render in V-Ray by going to “View>Animation>Add Scene”. I typically adjust the sun angle in Sketchup to get the shadows exactly where I want them before moving to V-Ray. Changing the sun angle in Sketchup will change the sun angle in V-Ray. Things like the sun, cameras, and materials all speak to each other between the two programs. This means the V-Ray interface is running inside of Sketchup. Things like material setup, AO passes, dusk and interior shot setup will come later.īefore getting into the settings, there are a few more notes. To keep things manageable, this first post will be an overview of the basic concepts that I use for setting up a daytime rendering scene. Render settings are obviously a big topic to cover and there are many different rendering situations like interior shots, dusk shots, and daytime shots that require different setups. This way of thinking maintains my sanity and minimizes the amount of test renderings and setting adjustments that need to be made. I am simply trying to get close to what I want and then refine the lighting and colors in Photoshop. Another very important point that I want to make is that I am not trying to produce the perfect V-Ray rendering each time. You will notice that I don’t vear too far from the default settings, but instead use settings that will provide the best ratio of fast rendering times and good outputs. Right out of the box, V-Ray generates nice renderings. The most important of these were simplicity and flexibility. I simply tried out a lot of different programs and found V-Ray was the best at meeting a lot of my needs. I have been using V-Ray for over a year now and I am in no way paid by V-Ray or affiliated with the company. A lot of you have been asking for V-Ray settings and so I am going to spend a little time going over the settings that I used to create the base rendering of the main street perspective in the previous post.












Vray settings